My Pets

A Decade With Lexi

Today is Lexi’s birthday!!  We are celebrating ten years together today.  It was ten years ago this evening when she first came into my life as a little baby kitten.

Ten years….where has the time gone??  It doesn’t seem that long ago when she was just a tiny new kitten I could hold in one hand.  I remember when my boyfriend at that time came home and told me that a new litter of feral kittens had just been born on his brother’s farm and that one particular female kitten of the litter was completely white.  He then said that as soon as she was weaned, he wanted to take her and bring her home to live with us.  We were going to wait a little longer to adopt her, but Jamie grew impatient and couldn’t wait any longer.  So a few weeks later—ten years ago tonight, to be exact—he sheepishly approached me while I was in the shower and asked me if he could go ahead and pick up the kitten that night.  Although I wasn’t yet ready for her to join our family, I relented and then quickly began scrambling together some preparations and compiling a list of possible names for the new kitten.  After reviewing the list together, Jamie and I settled on the name Lexi.  He returned home later that night with the cat carrier in hand and set it down on the living room floor.  I sat down, opened the carrier door, and peeked inside, but I didn’t see a kitten in there.  So I looked again, more closely this time, and that’s when I saw a TEENY TINY little white kitten sitting primly among the folds of the towel in the carrier.  And she appeared to be smiling.  I took her out and held and cuddled her immediately!!  And the rest is history.

I can’t believe that ten years of love, pets, hugs, snuggles, and shenanigans have already gone by.  Oh, the memories we share together!!  Over the last decade I have watched Lexi grow and watched her personality and habits grow and evolve.  She has been here with me through good and bad times, we’ve felt joy together and suffered losses together, and we’ve traveled across the country together.  I never grow tired of holding and kissing that adorable face of hers and telling her how much I love her.  I don’t know how many more years we’ll have with each other, but with any luck we’ll get to enjoy close to another ten years together.  Happy 10th Birthday, Lexikins!!  I love you so much!!!!!

Leave a Reply

