Gardening, Uncategorized

Is My Black Thumb Finally Turning Green?

A week or two ago, I had to throw out all but two of my plants after they all withered away and died.  Only my bright red bromeliad and my purple petunias still showed any signs of life.  The bromeliad was thriving, but the purple petunias were hanging on by a thread.

I figured out that most of this was my own fault because I had been over-watering my plants.  After seeing Grandma water her flowers every day for many years, I just assumed that was what I was supposed to do, especially since I now live in a super sunny and hot climate.  But apparently not.  A few people have mentioned to me that it is likely that my plants also died because they got scorched in the Florida sun.  They said that the plants and flowers that thrived in my grandma’s garden up in the Midwest aren’t suited for the hot tropical climate of southern Florida.  Well if that’s the case, then why do they sell those types of plants here??

Anyway, once I discovered that over-watering was the main source of the problem, I immediately drained all of the excess water from my plant pots and stopped watering them for a week in order to give the soil a chance to dry out.  And once it did, I noticed that my petunias quickly sprang back to life.  In just the last few days, I have counted at least a dozen new blooms sprouting on my petunia plant.  So apparently watering it only once a week is all that it needs; duly noted.  Now that I know this, perhaps I will go buy a second petunia plant in a different color and see how well that one will thrive, too.

My bright orange-red bromeliad that has been growing and thriving the best suddenly turned pale and brown and has begun to fall over at the base of the stem this past week.  I’m not sure if it’s nearing the end of its natural life or if it just needs to be transferred into a bigger pot of soil now that it has grown bigger.  Perhaps I should go to one of those reputable Lawn & Gardening centers at a Home Depot or a Lowe’s and talk to someone there about it.  They might be able to tell me what to do with it.

My hanging fern plant looks like it’s dying on me, too.  Many of the leaves are turning brown and hard and falling off.  I stopped over-watering that plant as well, but it doesn’t seem to have helped it any.  I also tried taking it out of the shady corner it hangs in and setting it down on the balcony floor where it can get lots of sunlight, but that also does not seem to be helping, either.  I guess I should also ask about the fern plant if I talk to any experts at a store.

So at the moment, it looks as if the only plant that is thriving is the purple petunias, and that plant has made a complete turn-around.  One way or another I will eventually learn the ropes and get the hang of this gardening stuff.

Leave a Reply

