Uncategorized

All Work And No Play Makes a Grumpy Mermaid

I just finished one of the longest work weeks I’ve ever put myself through this past week.  How I made myself do it without losing my mind is a miracle.  I DID make myself physically ill from exhaustion, though.  That happens to me every once in awhile, and it’s a sign that I have pushed myself too hard.  But I had expenses that needed to be taken care of, so I forced myself to burn the candle at both ends in order to get it done.  And it paid off; I had a very successful week…my most profitable week so far for this current year.  It’s just too bad that all of that money had to go towards my rent and an unexpected car repair.  I could have purchased A LOT of cool stuff for my home with that $1,800!!!  I spent all day yesterday (Sunday) in my bed resting and recuperating, and I intended to get back to work again today, but apparently my body needed more rest.  So I’ll get back to it tomorrow instead.  I feel really lazy whenever I blow off work, but sometimes I just have to stop and take care of myself.  Plus, I feel bad for Lexi.  I can tell that she feels ignored when I am out of the house for long periods of time working and then doing nothing but sleeping when I come home.  When I’m doing nothing but working and sleeping, I don’t have the time or the energy to play with her, take her outside, or give her the attention she needs.  And she definitely lets me know that she doesn’t like it!!  So yesterday and today I did my best to make up for it by giving her lots of one-on-one attention.

And of course, it seemed like everyone chose yesterday of all days to come over to my house to visit with me, which wasn’t exactly enjoyable for me due to the fact that I was feeling pretty sick.  It’s an unwritten universal law that everyone will suddenly want to come calling and do stuff with you when you’re not feeling well.  Even after I abandoned decorum and flat out warned them that I had diarrhea, they still insisted on coming over!  I don’t get people sometimes.

After seeing how much money I can bring in when I push myself to the limit, I want to push myself this hard again after I am feeling better.  Only this time I’m going to spend all of the money I make on stuff for my house.  Thinking of all the cool things I’ll get to buy will keep me plenty motivated throughout my next marathon work week, and it’s going to feel soooooooo good to shop online and in my favorite stores and buy $2,000 worth of stuff that I want all at once.  It’s going to feel absolutely orgasmic, and I can’t wait to cross a lot more items off of my “Things To Buy For My House” list.  Harking back to my previous post about why I choose to be independent and work my ass off, this is one of the main reasons why:  I love the feeling of working hard and then rewarding myself for that hard work.  And I play and shop just as hard as I work, so the rewards are well worth it!! And after my next marathon week, I’m also going to take a few days off to myself and get my nails done, get a full-body massage, and spend a day or two at the beach enjoying The Three S’s:  Sun, sand, and saltwater.  But first I have to get over this nasty sickness I seem to have, whether it came from working too hard or a stomach virus. :-/

Leave a Reply

