Deep Thoughts and Wisdom

Satanism 101

While many people were celebrating Easter this past weekend, I went about my usual business unaware that it was even Easter weekend until someone mentioned it to me.  Although I was brought up in a Fundamentalist Southern Baptist church as a young child, I completely turned my back on organized religion a few years ago, and I never felt happier and more free in my life since doing so.

Although I do not practice any sort of religion and am mostly an Atheist who believes in science, there is one “religion” whose tenets I do follow.  I say the word religion in quotation marks because it’s not really a religion; it’s more of a philosophy, actually.  And that is the Church of Satan.

Now before anyone reading this gets all riled up and goes off the deep end condemning me as an evil devil worshiper who performs ritualistic animal sacrifices, eats children, and should be burned alive at the stake as a witch, let me assure you that is not the case at all.  Satanists do NOT eat children…we only drink their blood while dancing naked during the full moon. 😉

But seriously, the philosophy of Satanism has nothing at all to do with devil worship.  Here is a basic introduction to what the Church of Satan is all about:

Satanists do not worship the devil because they don’t believe that such a character even exists.  Satanists are Atheists who neither believe in Satan or God or any other deities.  If anything, Satanism can be characterized as a worship of the self.  You are the God of your own personal universe, and you are to live your life as you see fit for yourself.  The term “Satan” is used by Satanists as a metaphor to represent the natural, flawed, carnal nature of humanity.  Whereas religions like Christianity, Islam, and Judaism focus on suppressing our human wants and drives in order to please God and eventually attain some sort of salvation and everlasting life after death, Satanism is all about accepting and embracing yourself for all that you are, flaws and all.  Instead of trying to deny or suppress your natural desires such as lust, greed, vanity, or love for physical pleasures such as drinking alcohol or eating certain types of food in an attempt to become “pure in the eyes of God”, Satanism is all about embracing those desires and pleasures and indulging in them…..as long as you are not harming yourself or anyone else in the process.  Although Satanism is all about being happy with yourself and enjoying life to the fullest the way YOU want to, addiction, self-harm, and causing harm to others is forbidden.

Satanism is all about indulgence where Christianity and other religions are all about abstinence. Satanism is all about self-care and taking care of your own needs and interests first while Christianity is about service to others and putting yourself last. Satanism is about not tolerating abuse or disrespect from others and treating them the same way they treat you, as opposed to the tenets of Christianity that command its followers to continually turn the other cheek. The latter two examples make it easy to see why a lot of practicing Christians often feel “burnt out” or develop co-dependency issues from constantly tending to others’ needs and wishes while ignoring their own and putting up with repeated disrespect or abuse.  It’s also extremely common for a lot of practicing Christians to suffer from low self-esteem and enormous amounts of guilt, shame, and self-torture due to not being able to completely suppress their natural desires and instincts and attain whatever vision of perfection they have been brainwashed into thinking that they need to become.  They beat themselves up for not being able to outwit or overcome their natural emotions, instincts, and desires….they beat themselves up for simply being normal human beings.

Going back to my point about forbidding self-harm or harm to others, Satanism has a few rules or “commandments” that explicitly forbid the harming of animals and children…which is a refreshing change from Roman Catholicism and other religions that seem to silently condone the sexual abuse of children while looking the other way.  Animals are to be treated with the utmost respect.  One of my favorites is Satanic Rule #5:  “Do not make sexual advances unless you are given the mating signal.” As a woman, I have always very much appreciated the fact that Satanism specifically forbids rape or sexual harassment and holds all perpetrators 100% accountable for their actions.  This is quite a refreshing difference from the Abrahamic religions that promote rape culture and blame women who are raped for “tempting men” with our clothing, physical appearances, or whatever.  In fact, it wasn’t until I turned away from Christianity and embraced Atheism and the tenets of Satanism that I finally stopped feeling guilt and shame simply for being female and began to feel empowered in my natural right as a woman to go about my life and carry myself in any way I want without “deserving” rape or “tempting” men into committing such a crime.  Satanic Rule #5 is just one of several of the rules of Satanism that has helped give me confidence and inner strength.

Here is a list of the Eleven Satanic Rules of the Earth:

  1. Do not give opinions or advice unless you are asked.
  2. Do not tell your troubles to others unless you are sure they want to hear them.
  3. When in another’s lair, show him respect or else do not go there.
  4. If a guest in your lair annoys you, treat him cruelly and without mercy.
  5. Do not make sexual advances unless you are given the mating signal.
  6. Do not take that which does not belong to you unless it is a burden to the other person and he cries out to be relieved.
  7. Acknowledge the power of magic if you have employed it successfully to obtain your desires. If you deny the power of magic after having called upon it with success, you will lose all you have obtained.
  8. Do not complain about anything to which you need not subject yourself.
  9. Do not harm little children.
  10. Do not kill non-human animals unless you are attacked or for your food.
  11. When walking in open territory, bother no one. If someone bothers you, ask him to stop. If he does not stop, destroy him.

Number Eleven is another one of my favorites. It has given me more inner strength and confidence to go about my business in public as a young woman without fearing that any scumbag might harass me in any way, because I can go about my business with the certainty of knowing that if some dumbass fuckboy catcalls me, touches me, or tries to impede me in any way, then I CAN and WILL make him regret it.

And here is a list of the Nine Satanic Sins as copied from the Church of Satan’s official website. As you’ll notice, the Nine Sins aren’t really focused on bad behavior like the Ten Commandments of Christianity.  The Nine Sins are more about not succumbing to mental blockages like ignorance, pretentiousness, and lack of self-awareness:

1. Stupidity
The top of the list for Satanic Sins. The Cardinal Sin of Satanism. It’s too bad that stupidity isn’t painful. Ignorance is one thing, but our society thrives increasingly on stupidity. It depends on people going along with whatever they are told. The media promotes a cultivated stupidity as a posture that is not only acceptable but laudable. Satanists must learn to see through the tricks and cannot afford to be stupid.

2. Pretentiousness
Empty posturing can be most irritating and isn’t applying the cardinal rules of Lesser Magic. On equal footing with stupidity for what keeps the money in circulation these days. Everyone’s made to feel like a big shot, whether they can come up with the goods or not.

3. Solipsism
Can be very dangerous for Satanists. Projecting your reactions, responses and sensibilities onto someone who is probably far less attuned than you are. It is the mistake of expecting people to give you the same consideration, courtesy and respect that you naturally give them. They won’t. Instead, Satanists must strive to apply the dictum of “Do unto others as they do unto you.” It’s work for most of us and requires constant vigilance lest you slip into a comfortable illusion of everyone being like you. As has been said, certain utopias would be ideal in a nation of philosophers, but unfortunately (or perhaps fortunately, from a Machiavellian standpoint) we are far from that point.

4. Self-Deceit
It’s in the “Nine Satanic Statements” but deserves to be repeated here. Another cardinal sin. We must not pay homage to any of the sacred cows presented to us, including the roles we are expected to play ourselves. The only time self-deceit should be entered into is when it’s fun, and with awareness. But then, it’s not self-deceit!

5. Herd Conformity
That’s obvious from a Satanic stance. It’s all right to conform to a person’s wishes, if it ultimately benefits you. But only fools follow along with the herd, letting an impersonal entity dictate to you. The key is to choose a master wisely instead of being enslaved by the whims of the many.

6. Lack of Perspective
Again, this one can lead to a lot of pain for a Satanist. You must never lose sight of who and what you are, and what a threat you can be, by your very existence. We are making history right now, every day. Always keep the wider historical and social picture in mind. That is an important key to both Lesser and Greater Magic. See the patterns and fit things together as you want the pieces to fall into place. Do not be swayed by herd constraints—know that you are working on another level entirely from the rest of the world.

7. Forgetfulness of Past Orthodoxies
Be aware that this is one of the keys to brainwashing people into accepting something new and different, when in reality it’s something that was once widely accepted but is now presented in a new package. We are expected to rave about the genius of the creator and forget the original. This makes for a disposable society.

8. Counterproductive Pride
That first word is important. Pride is great up to the point you begin to throw out the baby with the bathwater. The rule of Satanism is: if it works for you, great. When it stops working for you, when you’ve painted yourself into a corner and the only way out is to say, I’m sorry, I made a mistake, I wish we could compromise somehow, then do it.

9. Lack of Aesthetics
This is the physical application of the Balance Factor. Aesthetics is important in Lesser Magic and should be cultivated. It is obvious that no one can collect any money off classical standards of beauty and form most of the time so they are discouraged in a consumer society, but an eye for beauty, for balance, is an essential Satanic tool and must be applied for greatest magical effectiveness. It’s not what’s supposed to be pleasing—it’s what is. Aesthetics is a personal thing, reflective of one’s own nature, but there are universally pleasing and harmonious configurations that should not be denied.

As you can see, Satanism is very much about keeping your mind sharp and not letting yourself become deceived or complacent.  Therefore, education and a constant drive to learn new things is a key component of Satanism.  You can’t reach your fullest potential and be the best version of yourself possible if your mind is closed off and ignorant.  If Satanism could be summed up in one word, it would be INDIVIDUALITY.  Satanism is all about being the best person you can be FOR YOURSELF and being proud of your identity.  Live for yourself, not for anyone else….that is what I proudly and fiercely do every single day of my life, and it shows.

I’m not the only person in my family who has taken an interest in the Church of Satan, either. One of my uncles and several of my cousins have expressed an interest in understanding more about the Church of Satan many times in the past, and I’m pretty certain that my cousin Megan already practices it.  But interestingly, after I began learning about the Church of Satan and its tenets, I suddenly realized that the person in my life who has influenced me the most by living his life in strict adherence to all of the principles of Satanism is my father…..who self-identifies as a Southern Baptist!

Now this has always been an interesting yet confusing contention for me.  My father was baptized in our Southern Baptist church long ago when I was a kid, and to this day he still calls himself a Baptist even though he hasn’t set foot in a church since I was a kid.  Yet my father does not think, talk, or act anything like other Southern Baptists.  My father heavily believes in the theory of evolution and LOVES to read books on evolution and human anthropology.  He is pro-choice.  He enjoys partaking of alcoholic beverages and loves heavy metal rock music.  He never sticks his nose into anyone else’s personal business and doesn’t trouble himself over worrying about who is having unapproved sex for pleasure, who is having an abortion, or which gay couples are getting married.  He simply does not give a shit.  He is all about education and constant learning of new things and expanding one’s mind.  He believes in the full equality of women and has always pushed me to become a strong, educated, independent, self-sufficient career woman.  He has NEVER pressured me to get married or have babies.  He has always taught me that there is no reason why I can’t do anything a boy can do just because I have a different set of genitalia and that my female sex should NEVER hinder me from anything.  NONE of what I just described about my father describes other Southern Baptists.  I’m very familiar with Baptists and other Fundamentalist Christians, and those are the people who view education, science, and asking questions as sinful. They view women as nothing more than baby factories and second class citizens subservient to men. They believe they have a Divine right and mandate to poke their noses into the most intimate areas of everyone else’s lives and pass judgment and bark out orders about how they should live.  That’s not my Dad at all.

My father may call himself a Baptist Christian, but he is truly a Satanist through and through.  He may not be aware of it, but he conducts himself in adherence to every single rule and tenet of Satanism to an exact T.  He is not a charitable person UNLESS he thinks you are worthy of his help.  He leaves others alone and never goes looking for trouble, but God help the person who starts trouble with him!!!  He has zero tolerance for stupidity and ignorance.  He refuses to follow the crowd or let other people’s thoughts and opinions influence him or his happiness.  He loves and respects animals far more than he ever has other human people.  And he most definitely has an “eye for an eye” mentality and does not forgive or forget easily.  One of these days I plan to broach this subject to him and tell him all about Satanism and show him how he embodies every single one of its tenets.  I don’t know how he will respond to that, but it should make for a very interesting discussion!!

If you are interested in learning more about the Church of Satan, a good place to start is the Theory And Practice section of their official website, which can be found here:  http://www.churchofsatan.com/theory-practice.php  They also have a great F.A.Q. section where they answer common questions about Satanism:  http://www.churchofsatan.com/frequently-asked-questions.php

I hope this blog article has been interesting and informative for you, and that you learned something new and expanded your mind a bit.  Learning and discovery is the highest virtue.   HAIL. 🙂

[Author’s Note:  Any comments posted that are derogatory or intended to try to convert me to Christianity or any other religion will NOT be approved and will never see the light of day.  So don’t waste your time.  I respect the right of everyone else to believe whatever religion or philosophy they want, and I expect that same courtesy in return.  I do not need anyone to try to “save my soul” no matter how strongly they may believe in Heaven and Hell.  Live and Let Live. 🙂 ]

13 thoughts on “Satanism 101”

    1. Well, Satanists are merely another variation of Atheists. There IS a bit of a magical component to Satanism. Many members have their own unique private altars in their home that they use as “compression chambers” to release negative pent-up energy and to ask the Universe for whatever they might desire. I, personally, do not have any altars in my home. I DO believe in the idea of Lesser Magic, though….mostly due to some of my family members being Pagans…and I intend to learn more about it in the Satanic Bible and another manual book titled “The Satanic Witch”. It’s all about using psychic energy in order to manipulate our environment and other people.

      Like

      1. I’m 74 year old English skeptic of most things. It seems to me you’ve moved from one supernatural belief to another. The only difference being your new faith is self-centred the old one attemps unsuccessfully to obliterate the self.
        Happyness is an illusive beast the more you pursue him the faster he runs.

        Like

      2. I wouldn’t really call it a “faith”, especially since I’m not a card carrying member of the COS who performs any rituals. I simply do as I please and tend to myself, and that’s it.

        Like

      3. Sorry if that word offends from my point of view any belief in supernatural goings on requires faith since it is beyond reason.
        None of us do exactly as we please since we occupy a community of some sort or another and we are bound by all sorts of ties some tiresome, some pleasent enough, but all demanding we play our part.
        I’m glad you are relatively free I have felt less limited since I retired in 2003.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Actually, Satanism as it was codified by Anton LaVey, is free of supernatural beliefs. The rituals that we elect to engage in (they’re not mandatory) are actually a form of psychodrama used to purge the mind of negative thoughts that would prevent us from achieving success in our daily lives so we can focus on our goals. Essentially, it’s a tweaking of the mind that can be quite liberating.

        We know that the possibility of what we ask for in the ritual chamber becoming true is unlikely, but that’s not really the point of Satanic ritual. The idea is to get over it and move on. For example, I was involved in a bad breakup with a girlfriend who continued to be a nuisance. I changed residences and phone numbers and she still pestered me. I performed the Destruction Ritual to get all thoughts of her out of my head – insofar as I was concerned, she was already dead to me. I proceeded to go about my life after purging her from my thoughts, and eventually, I did cease thinking about her. Now, when I found out through mutual friends that she was involved in a traffic collision that was her own fault exactly six weeks after my ritual was performed, that was the coincidental icing on a rather sweet cake.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Thanks for your interesting post it brought ‘the born showman’ Anton Lavey to my attention.
        I had to smile when I read he had an affair with the unknown Marylin Munroe. Many years ago I did read a couple of Denis Wheatly’s books when they were all the rage ;apparently Anton was a fan.
        To suggest there is nothing esoteric about Anton Lavey and the practise of rituals is streching the imagination to say the least.
        In your case to carry out a Destruction Ritual is obviously a belief in the supernatural in the same way as any religious prayer.
        The belief that chance happenings are guided by invisable forces is a belief in magic.
        To pursue life for ones own ends is natural enough but few can really carry it out completely.
        No person is without a conscience what ever they may claim.
        Perhaps the few exceptions are psycopaths and they are sprinkled throughout society.

        Like

  1. The only thing to which I will respond about this article is the mischaracterization that Satanism is more philosophy than religion, something I see often coming from the newer Satanists. Anton LaVey established Satanism as a religion with its own attendant philosophical ideas, the same as you’ll find with any other religion. Philosophies don’t have religious rituals.

    Like

    1. Very insightful comments. I myself treat it more as a philosophy because I don’t perform any of the rituals; I just use the rules and sins listed as a guide for how to live my life. Someday I might try out some of the rituals. I need to read more about it first. I still have yet to purchase the Satanic Bible as well as the other book The Satanic Witch. I can’t wait to read them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post. I actually am an Active member of the Church of Satan, and I attended our 50th Anniversary ritual and gala in Poughkeepsie, NY this past Walpurgisnacht. This is an atheistic religion, and while it’s not inaccurate to state that we are atheists it is more accurate to say that we are I-Theists, being as that we perceive ourselves as our own gods. I’ve seen a lot of confusion here concerning ritual magic. The (Satanic) textbook definition of magic is, “The change in situations or events in accordance with one’s will, which would, using normally accepted methods, be unchangeable.” By this logic, lesser magic means the application of things such as sexuality, seduction, social engineering, manipulation in order to assert bend situations to your own desires. Greater magic, also known as ritual magic, is a form of psychodrama. There is nothing supernatural going on with it, the point is to bring about a form of catharsis. If the desired result of a compassion ritual were to occur, for example, there is much to be said for the placebo effect. Simply performing the ritual and purging yourself of emotional baggage can leave you feeling more relaxed, and more likable. I participated in my first group ritual at our 50th Anniversary, and I have to say that the atmosphere was almost electric with the raw emotional power in the room with there being so many remarkable and strong-willed individuals focusing together. Given that I still feel like I’m positively charged up and fired up to take on anything life throws at me two weeks later, I would say that Anton Szandor LaVey rightly saw the value of ritual in the daily lives of the human animal. I hope this clears up anyone’s confusion who might be reading about why a group of atheists see value in “ritual magic”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

