Tropical Life

It’s a Mermaid’s Life For Me!!

Welcome to my new blog and my first blog post. Here’s a little introduction to me and what this is all about:

I’m 35 years young, and I live in the beautiful, sunny, tropical paradise of southeastern Florida. No hubby, no kids, just me and my adorable little sidekick Lexi (my eight year old cat). I’m a free and independent woman who can do whatever I want whenever I want. Freedom is practically my middle name.

I’m an entrepreneur, TV background actor, and semi-professional athlete who hopes to one day turn fully professional. I work in the boring yet lucrative business of insurance sales, and I have worked in various Florida-based TV show series such as “The Glades”, “Burn Notice”, and “Bloodline”. I also plan to wade into the real estate and marine vessel businesses one of these days as well. Insurance is OK, but eventually I hope to settle into something I really enjoy while making a lot of money doing it. I do rather well for myself with the insurance, but it’s not my passion. Showcasing and selling beautiful properties and large boats is more my thing. As long as I’m my own boss, I’m happy.

When I’m not hard at work, I can be found relaxing at the nearest beach, snorkeling and diving, boating with friends, shopping, fixing up and decorating my latest new home “The Mermaid Lair 2.0”, attempting to master the art of flower & plant gardening, and training at the pole dance/fitness studios. I was absolutely obsessed with gymnastics when I was a kid, and now that my body aged out of that long ago, pole gymnastics is the next best thing closest to it.

I’ve been studying and training in the art of competitive pole fitness dancing for about 3 years now, and I think I’m about ready to begin competing in local, state, and eventually national and international championship competitions. I follow the Ecuadorian national and South American continental champion Maria Jose Gomez Chavez on Instagram. She is my constant inspiration of where I want to get to with my skill level. Her skills are absolutely jaw-dropping. And who knows, maybe someday I’ll even become certified and open up my own pole dance training studio! I’m proud to say that at age 35 I now have more muscle tone and more upper body and core strength than I’ve ever had in my entire life. It is definitely a full-body strength training workout, and it’s a lot of fun too!! Right now I’ve got my sights set on the Florida State Pole Dance Fitness Championship Competition. After viewing the video of the 2014 Amateur Division winner, I think I’m about ready!!

Compared to the uber-wealthy, 24/7 partying, cocaine snorting, pill popping, club-hopping South Floridians that surround me, I live a pretty modest, laid-back, drama-free life. As long as I’ve got the ocean, palm trees, year-round summer weather, and a closet full of flowy sundresses and several drawers full of Victoria’s Secret swimsuits, I’m totally content. I’m not into the rave music scene at all, nor do I care to participate in the “swinging” parties or the gratuitous drug-use that everyone around me does. It’s just not my thing, and I’m sure my upbringing in the rural Midwest has a lot to do with it.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that I moved to SoFla three years ago after being born and raised in rural southern Illinois for 30 years. As a young kid, I grew up on a family-owned farm literally out in the middle of nowhere….long before the days of Internet and cell phones. My two obsessive passions in life were music and gymnastics. In high school, I was both a shy dorky band geek and a cheerleader/ Drill Team dancer. I went to college and got a Bachelor’s Degree in Secondary Social Science Education and eventually went to Florida Atlantic University to pursue a Master’s in History. Prior to relocating to Florida, I worked for several years for the State of Illinois at a great job with great co-workers. I outgrew some of my dorkiness and got into the world of beauty pageants and fashion/print modeling. I’ve been pictured and interviewed in pageant magazines about three times, and I’ve held two state-level pageant titles and one national pageant title. So I’d say I’ve had somewhat of a pretty interesting life with some cool accomplishments. And I hope to double or triple that now that I’m in Florida. I packed up and moved by myself to Florida because I was bored with rural Midwestern culture and I wanted to spread my wings and experience life out in the Real World. I’ve also had a lifelong love of the ocean and have been declaring since I was a young child that someday I would live in a place where it never got cold. So one day I just made that happen. People often tell me what a bold and gutsy move that was and how they don’t know if they would be brave enough to leave everything they’ve ever known behind and move halfway across the country all by themselves. I guess they are right that it was a ballsy move, but at the time I knew it was what I wanted and I did whatever it took to make it happen.

On a side note, Florida actually wasn’t my #1 choice of states to move to. My first choice was actually Hawaii, because I love the mountainous terrain of the Hawaiian islands along with the Pacific Ocean marine life and the Polynesian culture. But I am not at all familiar with the Hawaiian islands like I was already familiar with Florida, and the cost of moving myself and all of my belongings 6,000 miles away would have been astronomical. My move to Florida set me back about $2000, and I already had a network of friends and professional contacts here. But like I always say, maybe someday……

So now you know a little about me. I hope you’ll enjoy reading my future musings about my daily life here in the 561. 🙂

mermaid1

1 thought on “It’s a Mermaid’s Life For Me!!”

  1. Love you started this blog! So refreshing to see one that isn’t just moms posting about their kids! (Kitty posts are definitely encouraged, however :))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

